Text Resize


ALCS Educational Writers' Award

Jon Richards (Editor) and Ed Simkins (Designer), winners of the 2014 award. Photography by Will Ireland.

For a ninth year the Society of Authors is administering the ALCS Educational Writers' Award. The award this year is for books published during 2014 and 2015 for the 11-18 age group. The £2,000 award will be given to an outstanding example of traditionally published non-fiction (with or without illustrations) that stimulates and enhances learning. 

Entries to the 2016 award, for the 11-18 year age group are now CLOSED.




Important Information:

  • The deadline for entry is Thursday 30 June
  • The work must have been first published in English in the UK within the previous two calendar years
  • The work must possess an ISBN


Further Reading

Past winners of the Award

View the Flickr photo gallery

The British Council Award for ELT Writing






An annual subscription (£102 or £73 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?