The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award is the world’s richest short story prize, with the winner presented with £30,000 and each of the shortlisted writers receiving £1,000.

The award is given to a published writer, from any country, for a single short story of up to 6,000 words.


Entry to the 2017 prize has now closed. 

Keep up to date with the prize at 


For any queries relating to the prize please contact 

Previous winners are Yiyun Li, Adam Johnson, Junot Diaz , Kevin Barry, Anthony Doerr, and CK Stead. Shortlisted authors have included Hilary Mantel, Emma Donoghue, Elizabeth Strout, and Ali Smith.

The 2016 winner was previously shortlisted writer Jonathan Tel for The Human Phonograph. Read more about the 2016 winner and shortlisted writers.


For full details of the Terms & Conditions, please click here.