Text Resize


Nathan Filer, winner of the Betty Trask Prize 2014

The Betty Trask Prize and Awards

Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic, but not experimental, style.


Entry to the 2015 prizes have now closed. The 2016 prize entry forms will follow in the summer. 

Important Information:

  • The prize money must be used for foreign travel
  • The prize is open to published and unpublished novels.

Further Reading

View Past Winners

Back to Grants and Prizes



An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?