Text Resize


Broadcasting Group

The Broadcasting Group represents all Society members and associates working in radio and TV broadcast within the UK and, where possible, abroad. We are pleased to administer the Imison Radio Award. We also co-administer the Tinniswood Radio Award with the Writers' Guild.

About the Group

The main purpose of the Broadcasting Group is to support members and associates by: providing professional advice; negotiating minimum terms agreements with organisations such as the BBC; promoting legislation for the benefit of members; and by holding seminars and meetings on matters of concern to broadcasting writers.

To be eligible for membership of the Group you need to have written and had broadcast at least two scripts for radio or television of at least twenty minutes’ duration. Please email Jo McCrum with details of your production(s) if you would like to join. As with all the Society’s subsidiary groups there is no additional joining fee.

The Committee

committee of ten elected members runs the Group. Their term of office lasts for three years.

Any Broadcasting Group member can apply for a position on the committee provided that they have the support of two members. The Chair is elected by the members of the committee.

The Broadcasting Group Secretary is Jo McCrum.

Broadcasting Group Noticeboard

September Newsletter

The September newsletter has gone out to members who we have a valid email address for.

Broadcasting Group AGM 2015 & Net Gain: Storytelling in the Digital Age

The 2015 AGM of the Broadcasting Group took place on Wednesday 7 October.

Ruth Brandon, Michelle Lipton, John Taylor, Jane Thynne and Stephen Wakelam retired and  Stefan Buczacki, Jamila Gavin, Catherine Johnson, Hilary Robinson and Isla Gray were elected to their place.

Read the Chair's AGM report here.

The AGM was followed by Net Gain: Storytelling for a Digital Age with Guy Gadney (The Project Factory), Sharna Jackson (Hopster TV), Will Saunders (BBC Creative Director for Digital TV Production) author and director David Varela. Chaired by Jon Davenport (Fable Media).

The Future of the BBC

The Government is currently reviewing the BBC's Charter - the constitution basis which guides how the institution is run. We will be making a submission and welcome member input. Read more 

SoA Broadcasting Survey

We would like to offer a resource for members on rates offered to writers by TV, film and radio producers. If you’ve been interviewed on a specialist subject, had a work licensed for use, acted as a consultant or contributed in any medium we’d like to hear about your experiences – good and bad. Please complete this survey. All responses will be strictly confidential.

BBC R4 and 4Extra Staffing

Jane Ellison has been appointed to a new role as Head of Creative Partnership Delivery with Mohit Bakaya taking on the role of Commissioning Editor, Factual. Mohit's remit will include Narrative Histories, 15’ Features and weekday 28’ Features. 

Tony Phillips, Commissioning Editor, Arts (who is also Commissioning Editor, World Service) has taken on the Saturday 1030 Feature slot.

Caroline Raphael (Commissioning Editor Comedy and Fiction, BBC Radio 4 and Commissioning Editor, BBC Radio 4 Extra) will leave the BBC next spring. The BBC are advertising the Comedy position as a part-time post.

R4 and 4Extra controller Gwyneth Williams has direct responsibility for Book of the Week.

Plans for Book at Bedtime and Short Readings in due course are yet to be confirmed.

BBC contributor payments

The BBC has informed us that, following planned upgrades to their SAP business and payments system, they will be unable to process any contributor payments (or pay any invoices) between 2 - 12 January 2015. Contracts raised between 2 and 12 January 2015 will be brought forward to be paid immediately before the systems upgrade. Email Mark.Chapman-Rights@bbc.co.uk if you have any queries.

The Children's Media Foundation

We support The Children's Media Foundation who are dedicated to ensuring the UK children have the best possible choice, range and quality of media available to them. Its role is to bring together the children's media industry, the research community, parents and policy makers in a deeper understanding of the issues around children and their media activity. It supports research projects, and media literacy initiatives, runs an All Party Group to inform Parliamentarians about the latest research, and lobbies for greater support for children's media made in the UK.

Connect with us

Related links



An annual subscription (£102 or £73 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?