Text Resize


Paul Farley, a Cholmondeley Award winner 2013

The Cholmondeley Awards for Poets

The Cholmondeley Awards for Poets were founded by the late Dowager Marchioness of Cholmondeley in 1966 to recognise the achievement and distinction of individual poets.


  • They are honorary awards and submissions are not accepted
  • The recipients are chosen by the Awards Committee for their general body of work and contribution to poetry.

The 2013 Awards

Simon Armitage, Paul Farley, Lee Harwood and Medbh McGuckian each received £1,500.

Judges: Gillian Clarke, Ian Patterson, Fiona Sampson and Michael Symmons Roberts.

Pictured left: Simon Armitage with Carol Ann Duffy who presented the Authors' Awards 2013.



View Past Winners

Back to Grants and Prizes




An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?