Text Resize


ALCS Educational Writers' Award

Jon Richards (Editor) and Ed Simkins (Designer), winners of the 2014 award. Photography by Will Ireland.

For an eighth year the Society of Authors is administering the ALCS Educational Writers' Award. The award this year is for books published during 2013 and 2014 for the 5-11 age group. The £2,000 award will be given to an outstanding example of traditionally published non-fiction (with or without illustrations) that stimulates and enhances learning. 

Entry to the 2015 award has now closed.




Entry to the 2016 award, for books published during 2014 and 2015 for the 11-18 age group is now open. 


Important Information:

  • The deadline for entry is Tuesday 30 June
  • The work must have been first published in English in the UK within the previous two calendar years
  • The work must possess an ISBN


Further Reading

Past winners of the Award

View the Flickr photo gallery

The British Council Award for ELT Writing






An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?