Text Resize


Gabriel Weston, 2014 McKitterick Prize winner

The McKitterick Prize

Tom McKitterick, the former editor of Political Quarterly and author of an unpublished novel, endowed the McKitterick Prize which was first awarded in 1990. It is given annually to an author over the age of 40 for a first novel, published or unpublished. 

Entry to the 2015 prizes have now closed. The 2016 prize entry forms will follow in the summer. 
Important Information:
  • The annual deadline for entries is 31 October
  • Applicants must be over 40
  • Submissions must be for a first novel

Further Reading

View Past Winners

Back to Grants and Prizes



An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?