Text Resize



Inclusion on this page does not imply endorsement by the SoA. People’s circumstances differ, so please check the terms and conditions carefully first. If you are offered a contract, always show it to us before you sign it. If in any doubt, please contact us.

We will only list competitions on the Noticeboard that comply with the Artists’ Bill of Rights


  • The London Magazine Short Story Competition 2015

    In its continuing search for new voices in contemporary writing, The London Magazine is pleased to announce the opening of its annual Short Story Competition. Established to encourage emerging literary talent, the award provides an opportunity for publication and recognition, as well as rewarding imagination, originality and creativity. The London Magazine is looking for unpublished short stories under 4,000 words from writers across the world.

  • Applications are invited for the Eccles British Library Writer in Residence Award 2016

    This award of £20,000, sponsored by the Eccles Centre for American Studies at the British Library, is open to writers resident in the United Kingdom.

  • North West Literary Salon Seeks Writers

    The North West Literary Salon seeks writers who have a connection to the local area to give readings of their work. Writers must be personable, good readers and confident at answering questions.

    Writers will be paid £100 for the event. Local writers will be paid up to £50 for travel expenses, whilst writers travelling a greater distance will be paid up to £100. 

  • International Short Story Competition and Writers' Day

    Cambridge writers, Rosemary Westwell, Mary McGuire and Hayley Humphrey, are organizing a short story competition for writers worldwide. 

  • Mslexia Women's Novel Competition 2015

    Mslexia Women's Novel Competition 2015 is for novels of at least 50,000 words written for adults (and young adults) in any genre by previously unpublished women novelists.

  • Jane Grigson Award

    Jane Grigson, a renowned twentieth-century food writers that Britain has produced. Her books - especially her ground-breaking Good Things, Vegetable Book and Fruit Book - are still regarded by many leading food writers and cooks as major inspirations for their work.

    In honour of the twenty-fifth anniversary of Jane's death, The Jane Grigson Trust has launched an award for new food writers, to be presented for the first time in March 2016.


An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?