Text Resize


The annual BBC Audio Drama Awards

28 January 2013

The winners of the BBC Audio Drama Awards were announced on Sunday 27 January 2013.

The awards aim to celebrate and recognise the cultural importance of audio drama, on air and online, and to give recognition to the actors, writers, producers, sound designers, and others who work in the genre.

The winners were announced on Sunday 27 January at a ceremony in the Radio Theatre at BBC Broadcasting House. The awards were presented by actor, David Tennant. The hashtag was #audioawards (click to read a selection of tweets from the evening).

In conjunction with the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, the Imison and Tinniswood Awards were also announced and presented by distinguished screenwriter and author, Andrew Davies.

The Winners

The Society of Authors' Imison Award 

Best Radio Drama Script by a writer new to radio

Winner: Do You Like Banana, Comrades? by Csaba Székely (pictured right)

Society of Author’s Broadcasting Committee: Alison Joseph (Chair), Ruth Brandon, Lucy Caldwell, Christopher William Hill, Michelle Lipton, Karl Sabbagh, John Taylor, Colin Teevan, Jane Thynne and Elizabeth-Anne Wheal.


The Writers' Guild Tinniswood Award

Best Radio Drama Script

Winner: Kafka the Musical by Murray Gold (pictured left with Andrew Davies)

Judges: Meg Davis, Jonathan Myerson and Tim Stimpson.


Best Supporting Actress in an Audio Drama

Winner: Vicky McClure (pictured left with Stephen Mangan) for Kicking the Air

Judges: Daniel Evans, Louise Jury and Julie Myerson


Best Scripted Comedy

Winner: Believe It! by Jon Canter

Producer: Clive Brill, Pacificus Productions for Radio 4

Judges: Hannah Begbie, Bruce Dessau, Christopher William Hill and Alexei Sayle


Best Online Only Audio Drama

Winner: Above and Below written and produced by Daniel Macnaughton

Judges: Viv Gardner, Sofie Mason and Stephen Wright


Best Supporting Actor in an Audio Drama

Winner: David Troughton for Singles and Doubles by Martyn Wade

Producer: Cherry Cookson, Rockethouse Productions for Radio 3

Judges: Matt Hemley, Razia Iqbal and Imogen Stubbs


Best Use of Sound in an Audio Drama

Winner: The Cruel Sea written by Nicholas Monsarrat, dramatised by John Fletcher

Producer: Marc Beeby, BBC Radio Drama for Radio 4

Judges: Kevin Brew, John Hardy and Jane Thynne




Best Actress in an Audio Drama

Winner: Michelle Fairley (pictured right) for The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, dramatised by Donna Franceschild

Producer: Kirsty Williams, BBC Scotland for Radio 4

Judges: Baz Bamigboye, Nicholas Kent and Stephen Tompkinson



Best Adaptation from another source

Winner: A Doll's House by Henrik Ibsen, adapted by Tanika Gupta (pictured left)

Producers: Nadia Molinari, BBC North for Radio 3

Judges: Sebastian Born, Alan Brodie and Susannah Clapp




Best Actor in an Audio Drama

Winner: Andrew Scott for Betrayal by Harold Pinter

Producer: Gaynor Macfarlane, BBC Scotland for Radio 4

Judges: Andrew Davies, Sarah Vine and Nina Wadia


Best Audio Drama (Series or Serial)

Winner: The Lost Honour of Katharina Blum by Heinrich Böll, abridged by Helen Meller (pictured right with producers)

Producer: Polly Thomas, Somethin’ Else Productions for Radio 4

Judges: Patricia Cumper, Will Gompertz and Lord Hall of Birkenhead



Best Audio Drama (Single Play)

Winner: On It by Tony Pitts (pictured left with cast)

Producer: Sally Harrison, Woolyback Productions for Radio 4

Judges: Jane Anderson, Fiona Shaw, Ben Stephenson and Vanessa Thorpe



Download the press release containing details of the full shortlist

The BBC Audio Drama Awards | The Imison Award  |  The Tinniswood Award

Related articles



An annual subscription (£102 or £73 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?