Text Resize


Winners of the Society of Authors' Translation Prizes 2013

12 February 2014

On Wednesdy 12 February, seven translators received prizes totalling over £16,000 at the Society of Authors’ Translation Prizes, held at Europe House, London.

The prizes were presented by Sir Peter Stothard, Editor of the TLS at the special readings event. This was followed by a drinks reception and Writing on Stilts, a discussion about distance and closeness in translation between Dr Ian Patterson and Adam Mars-Jones. Listen to Writing on Stilts.

Read the TLS blog about the ceremony, by Adrian Tahourdin

The 2013 winners

The Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize (Arabic)

The £3,000 Saif Ghobash-Banipal Prize, first awarded in 2006, is presented annually. The prize was
established by Banipal, the magazine of modern Arab literature, and the Banipal Trust for Arab Literature.

Joint winner: Willian Maynard Hutchins for his translation of A Land Without Jasmine by Wajdi al-Ahdal (Garnet).

Joint winner: Jonathan Wright for his translation of Azazeel by Zoussef Ziedan (Atlantic).

Sponsors: Omar Saif Ghobash and the Ghobash family and the Banipal Trust for Arab Literature.

Judges: Hassan Abdulrazzak, Rajeev Balasubramanyam, Humphrey Davis and Meike Ziervogel.


The Schlegel-Tieck Prize (German)

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize (£3,000) has been awarded annually since 1965 and takes its name from two
great poets of the Romantic Period, August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) and his friend Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853), also a noted translator.

Winner: Ian Crockatt for his translation of Pure Contradiction - selected poems by Rainer Maria Rilke (Arc).

Runner up: Jamie Bulloch for his translation of Sea of Ink by Richard Weihe (Peirene).

Sponsors: The Goethe-Institut and the German Embassy and Arts Council England.

Judges: Dr Emily Jeremiah and Dr Johannes Kaminski.


The Scott Moncrieff Prize (French)

The Scott Moncrieff Prize of £2,000 has been awarded annually since 1965 and is named for Scott Moncrieff, the celebrated translator of Proust’s Remembrance of Things Past.

Winner: Beverley Bie Brahic for her translation of The Little Auto by Guillaume Apollinaire (CB Editions).

Runner up: Euan Cameron for his translation of A Journey to Nowhere - Detours and Riddles in the Lands and History of Courland by Jean-Paul Kauffman (MacLehose Press).

Sponsors: The Institut français du Royaume-Uni and Arts Council England.

Judges: Professor Andrew Hussey and Michèle Roberts.


The Premio Valle Inclán (Spanish)

The Premio Valle Inclán of £2,000 is given annually, and was first awarded in 1997.

Winner: Frank Wynne for his translation of The Blue Hour by Alonso Cueto (Heinemann).

Runners up: Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia for Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman (Pushkin Press).

Runner up: Anne McLean for The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Bloomsbury).

Sponsors: Office for Cultural and Scientific Affairs of the Embassy of Spain, The Instituto Cervantes in London and Arts Council England.

Judges: John King and Jason Wilson.


The Vondel Prize (Dutch)

The Vondel Prize of €5,000 was established in 1996 and is now awarded biennially.

Winner: David Colmer for The Misfortunates by Dimitri Verhulst (Portobello).

Runner up: Ina Rilke for The Black Lake by Hella S. Haasse (Portobello).

Commended: Johanna W. Prins and Johanna H. Prins for Mother Number Zero by Marjolijn Hof (House of Anansi).

Sponsors: The Dutch Foundation for Literature and The Flemish Literature Fund.

Judges: Paul Binding, Sam Garrett and Paul Vincent.


The Risa Domb/Porjes Prize (Hebrew)

The Risa Domb/Porjes Prize for Hebrew-English translation is a £2,000 triennial award.

Winner: Todd Hasak-Lowy for Motti by Asaf Schurr (Dalkey Archive).

Sponsors: The Edith and Ferdinand Porjes Charitable Trust.

Judges: Yaron Peleg, Naomi Gryn, Dr Leon Yudkin and Lucy Silver.




Listen to the prize giving ceremony below:



The Society of Authors' Translation Prizes  The Society of Authors' Grants and Prizes





An annual subscription (£102 or £73 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?