Text Resize


The Tinniswood Award

The Tinniswood Award was established by the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to perpetuate the memory of Peter Tinniswood as well as to celebrate and encourage high standards in radio drama.

The Tinniswood Award is presented annually to the best original audio drama script of the year. We are deeply grateful to the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society for their generous sponsorship of the £1,500 prize. 

Applications for the 2016 award are now closed. The winners will be announced on 31 January 2016, at the BBC's Audio Drama Awards.

Entries for 2017 will be open from the beginning of next year. If you would like to receive notification and an entry form, please contact Jo McCrum.













Imison winner E.V. Crowe and Tinniswood winner Morwenna Banks collecting their awards. (Images: BBC)

Tinniswood Award 2015

The 2015 Tinniswood Award went to:

GOODBYE by Morwenna Banks

And the shortlistees were:


MEN WHO SLEEP IN CARS by Michael Symmons Roberts




GOODBYE by Morwenna Banks

Produced by Heather Larmour, BBC Northern Ireland, 75’, BBC R4

Lizzie and Jen have shared everything. When Lizzie is diagnosed with cancer their worlds are turned upside down. Together the friends negotiate the stages of her treatment and see their friendship tested and redefined in ways they could not have predicted.  And when they learn that Lizzie doesn't have much time left, they struggle to do the hardest thing of all. To say Goodbye.

The judges said: A skilled combination of funny, moving, achingly sad and extraordinarily life-enhancing, despite the subject at its heart.

Morwenna Banks (left) is well-known as an actor and writer. Her first feature THE ANNOUNCEMENT won several awards and her latest feature film MISS YOU ALREADY, directed by Catherine Hardwicke, is set for release in 2015. Current projects include the comedy DAMNED for Sky Arts television (co-written with Jo Brand); SHUSH, a new Radio 4 series co-starring and co-written with Rebecca Front; a further new Radio 4 series reprising cult sketch show ABSOLUTELY, winner of the 2014 BBC Audio Drama Award for Best Scripted Comedy (Live Audience); and a new series of UP THE WOMEN for BBC 2. 

You can listen to a clip of Goodbye by clicking here, and read the script here.

Morwenna Banks is one of the three writers who’ve written the series 2 of UP THE WOMEN currently airing on BBC2 and available on BBC iPlayer



Produced by Boz Temple-Morris, Holy Mountain, 45’, BBC R4

Intelligence agents at GCHQ (Government Communications Headquarters) are tracking three young British Muslims as they head for Syria. Henry Morcombe, an experienced GCHQ analyst, is tasked with establishing whether they intend to deliver humanitarian aid or join the armed conflict. How to protect the public, while keeping within legal and ethical boundaries, is far from straightforward, and tensions emerge as the team responds to unfolding events.

The judges said: An ever-relevant subject, treated with wit, pace and a real understanding of the craft. Highly compelling radio.

Fin Kennedy (left) is an award-winning playwright, freelance dramaturg and producer and Co-Artistic Director of Tamasha, where he will become Artistic Director in 2015. He has written for Soho Theatre, Sheffield Crucible, Southwark Playhouse, Half Moon, The Red Room and BBC Radio 4, and his plays are also produced internationally. He is writer-in-residence at Mulberry School in east London and founder of Schoolwrights, the UK's first playwrights-in-schools training scheme.

You can listen to the trailer for The Good Listener here, and read the script here.


MEN WHO SLEEP IN CARS by Michael Symmons Roberts

Produced by Susan Roberts, BBC Radio Drama North, 44’, BBC R4


One night in the week preceding England’s first World Cup fixture, three men whose lives have been turned upside down by the recession sleep in their cars on the streets of Manchester. They listen to the radio for company, hearing the build-up to the World Cup, where some of the most powerful men in the world of sport compete on the world stage. As the play develops we gradually learn how these three came to this, and how their lives interconnect.


The judges said: Timely, visceral and lyrical, this play examined the underbelly of contemporary urban life in surprising ways.


Michael Symmons Roberts (above) is one of Britain’s leading poets. His six poetry collections and his work for radio and as an opera librettist have won him many awards. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and of the English Association. The Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy has described him as “the clearest and purest voice currently sounding in British poetry”. He is Professor of Poetry at Manchester Metropolitan University.

You can listen to a clip of Men who Sleep in Cars here, and read the script here.

Michael Symmons Roberts’ drama-documentary A TRAVELLERS GUIDE TO PATERSON is available on BBC iPlayer.


Related links

The inaugural BBC Audio Drama Awards

Imison and Tinniswood past winners





An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?