Text Resize


Benjamin Myers, winner of the Tom-Gallon Award 2014

The Tom-Gallon Trust Award

An annual award of £1,000, financed by a bequest made by Miss Nellie Tom-Gallon in memory of her brother.

Entry to the 2015 prizes have now closed. The 2016 prize entry forms will follow in the summer. 
Important Information:


  • The winner must have had at least one short story accepted for publication
  • The winner must have serious writing ambitions
  • The submission should be traditional, not experimental, in character
  • The financial circumstances of the writer should be taken into account


The Tom-Gallon Trust Award is currently generously supported by The Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society.



Celebrating the Tom-Gallon Trust Short Story Award

Saturday 16 May, Darlington

Join us for an evening of readings from a selection of recent award winners. In association with Darlington Arts Festival and the Liars' League. 

Find out more >>


Further Reading

View Past Winners

Back to Grants and Prizes



An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?