Text Resize


Translation Prizes

The Society of Authors administers prizes for published translations into English from the Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Greek (modern), Italian, Spanish and Swedish. The prizes are generously supported by Arts Council England among others.The annual deadline for entry is 28 February.

The 2015 Translation Prizes

Please contact Paula Johnson if you have any queries about the 2014 prizes

The 2013 Translation Prizes

On Wednesday 12 February, seven translators received prizes totalling over £19,000 at the Society of Authors’ Translation Prizes, held at Europe House, London. The prizes were presented by Sir Peter Stothard, Editor of the TLS at the special readings event, followed by Writing on Stilts, a discussion about distance and closeness in translation between Dr Ian Patterson and Adam Mars-Jones.



An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?