SoA Fellows and President

The SoA Fellows are an honorary body of up to 60 eminent authors.

Fellow is an accolade conferred by the Management Committee on members of high standing who have been exceptional in their support of the SoA.

The Fellows have two powers: to elect the President; and if the SoA ceases to exist for any reason to ensure that any assets are passed to a similar organisation.

The strategy and policy of the SoA is directed by the Management Committee and the daily work carried out by the staff.

Fellows appointed since 2014 join for a ten-year term but may be reappointed one or more times. Fellows appointed before 2014 have a lifetime term.

The role of President is currently vacant and this role is under review in 2023. The President is an ambassador for the SoA and comments on broad policy issues, but has no role in the direction or governance of the SoA. The previous President was Sir Philip Pullman.