Women's Prize for Fiction 2019 shortlist announced

29 April 2019

The 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction shortlist celebrates a diverse range of voices and nationalities.

Pictured: This year's judges alongside the shortlisted books

This year's shortlist includes a debut author as well as a previous winner of the prize. Congratulations to the following shortlisted authors:

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Milkman by Anna Burns

Ordinary People by Diana Evans

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Circe by Madeline Miller

What the judges said

The judges for the 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction, who are all passionate about shining a light on writing by women, are:

  • Professor Kate Williams (Chair), author, historian, and Professor of History at the University of Reading
  • Arifa Akbar, journalist and critic
  • Dolly Alderton, columnist, broadcaster, and author
  • Leyla Hussein, campaigner and psychotherapist
  • Sarah Wood, digital entrepeneur

Chair of the judges, Kate Williams, said of the shortlist:

"It's a fantastic shortlist; exciting, vibrant, adventurous. We fell in love with these books and the amazing worlds they created. These books are fiction at its best - brilliant, courageous and utterly captivating."

The 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction winner will be awarded on 5 June 2019 at an awards ceremony in central London. The winner will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited-edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.