Harris, McKenna, Roberts and Tate elected to Society of Authors’ Board

3 November 2021

Members of the SoA have elected Charles Harris, Juliet McKenna, Hugh Roberts and Tim Tate to join the union's Management Committee. They will join the Board after the organisation's 2021 AGM on 18 November, when Samantha Collett, Woodrow Phoenix and Hugh Roberts (who has been re-elected for a further term) complete their three-year terms. Katharine Quarmby, whose term would have ended this year, stepped down from the Management Committee in September.

The Management Committee is the SoA’s board of directors, voted for by the union's members, and responsible for the strategic direction of the organisation.

SoA members were invited to stand for election in May and we received six nominations for four vacancies.

Welcoming the results, Chair of the Management Committee Joanne Harris said:

Charles, Juliet, Hugh and Tim join the SoA Board at a critical time. The past couple of years have been challenging for the 11,700 writers, illustrators, translators and other creative professionals we represent. The next few years will continue that trend, as creative freelancers find a way out of the other side of the health crisis, and the industries they work in continue to adapt to working outside the EU. The SoA is here for every type of author at every stage of their careers, and these new faces on the Management Committee are central to that mission. I very much look forward to working with them.

The Management Committee for 2021/2022 will be Simon Cann, Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, Charles Harris, Joanne Harris (Chair), Dorothy Koomson, Abie Longstaff, Juliet McKenna, Anne Rooney, Hugh Roberts, Margaret Skea, Tim Tate and Philip Womack.

Many thanks to Samantha, Woodrow and Katharine for your strategic input to the direction of the organisation over the past three years.