Audio Drama

We are proud to award two of the UK’s premier prizes for audio drama writing. Presented annually at the BBC Audio Drama Awards, our prizes celebrate new talent and outstanding achievement in audio drama.

  • The Imison Award (£3,000) is given annually to the best audio drama script by a writer new to the medium.
  • The Tinniswood Award (£3,000) honours the best original audio drama script of the year.

Congratulations to the 2019 Imison Award finalists! And well done to 2018 winners: Adam Usden won the 2018 Imison Award with his script The Book of Yehudit whilst the 2018 Tinniswood Award was presented to Sarah Woods for Borderland. John Finnemore received a commendation for Double Acts: Penguin Diplomacy.

The prizes were given on 28 January 2018 by SoA President Philip Pullman.

The 2019 Audio Drama Awards are now closed for submissions. See the full shortlist here.

(Sarah Woods, Philip Pullman and Adam Usden. Photo credit: BBC/Guy Levy)

To find out more, check out the 2018 Imison Award and the 2018 Tinniswood Award winners.

We are grateful for the support of the Peggy Ramsay Foundation (Imison), ALCS and the Writers' Guild of Great Britain (Tinniswood):