The Tinniswood Award

The Tinniswood Award is presented annually for the best original audio drama script of the year.

The Tinniswood Award was established by the Society of Authors and Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to perpetuate the memory of Peter Tinniswood as well as to celebrate and encourage high standards in radio drama.

Submissions will be accepted from any party (producer, broadcasting organisation, writer, agent etc.). 

Previous winners include Sarah Woods, Morwenna Banks, Mike Bartlett, Rachel Joyce, Stephen Wyatt, Nick Warburton, Christopher William Hill and Colin Teevan.

Entry to the 2020 award is now open.

2019 Tinniswood Award winner

WHEN THE PIPS STOP by Oliver Emanuel
Produced by Kirsty Williams, BBC Glasgow, 44’, BBC Radio 4

Listen to the play on BBC Sounds.

Above photo: Oliver Emanuel (right), 2019 Tinniswood winner, with award presenter Sarah Woods (©BBC)