The Somerset Maugham Awards

W. Somerset Maugham set up a fund in 1947 to enable young writers to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries. The awards are given for a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry.

Entry to the 2018 prize is now closed.

Important information

  • The deadline for entries is 30 November 2017. 
  • Applicants must be ordinarily resident in the UK and under the age of 35 on 31 December 2017
  • Submissions must have been published
  • The prize money must be used for foreign travel


Charity number 212402