The Paul Torday Memorial Prize

Paul Torday published his first novel Salmon Fishing in the Yemen aged 60. The family have decided to set up this new prize in Torday's honour, celebrating first novels by authors aged 60 or over.

The winner will receive £1,000, with a set of Paul Torday's collected works. Runners-up will receive one specially selected Paul Torday novel with a commemorative book plate.

2021 Paul Torday Prize Winner
Kathy O'Shaughnessy for In Love with George Eliot (Scribe UK)


2021 Shortlist

  • Runner up: Karen Raney for All the Water in the World (John Murray, Two Roads)
  • Judith Amanthis for Dirt Clean (Victorina Press)
  • Elfan Jones for Let Sleeping Dogs Lie (Unbound)
  • Trevor Wood for The Man on the Street (Quercus)