Past winners of the Travelling Scholarships

2021 Winners: Clare Pollard, Guy Gunaratne, Yara Rodrigues Fowler, Tom Stevenson and Lola Okolosie. Each received £1,600

2020 Winners: Luke Brown, Inua Ellams, Georgina Lawton, Neil Rollinson, and Ahdaf Soueif. Each received £1,600.

2019 Winners: Kathryn Hughes, Damian Le Bas, Nadifa Mohamed, Johny Pitts, and Gwendoline Riley. Each received £1,600.

2018 Winners: Jenn Ashworth, Tash Aw, Jessie Greengrass, James Harpur, and Sudhir Hazareesingh. Each received £1,575.

2017 Winners: Amy Liptrot, Ross Raisin, and James Sheard.  Each received £2,500.

2016 Winners: Jamie BartlettDavid CranePeter Oswald, and David Szalay. Each recieved £1,750.

Assessors: Richard Davenport-Hines, Maura Dooley, Christopher Potter, Sameer Rahim, Jane Ridley. 

Past winners of the awards have included:

C. Day Lewis, V.S. Pritchett, William Samson, Dylan Thomas, Laurie Lee, William Golding, Margaret Drabble, Stevie Smith, Naomi Lewis, Ronald Blythe, William Trevor, Maureen Duffy, Edward Blishen, Fay Weldon, Hilary Spurling, A.L. Barker, Sybille Bedford, Adrian Mitchell, Robert Nye, Jenny Diski, Robert Macfarlane and Helen Simpson.