The Betty Trask Prize and The Betty Trask Awards

Betty Trask left a bequest to the Society of Authors in 1983 to fund prizes for first novels written by authors under the age of 35 in a traditional or romantic, but not experimental, style.

2021 Betty Trask Prize Winner

Thomas McMullan for The Last Good Man (Bloomsbury)



Betty Trask Award Winners

  • Maame Blue for Bad Love (Jacaranda Books)
  • Eley Williams for The Liar's Dictionary (William Heinemann, Cornerstone)
  • Kiran Millwood Hargrave for The Mercies (Pan Macmillan, Picador)
  • Nneoma Ike-Njoku for The Water House 
  • Graeme Armstrong for The Young Team (Pan Macmillan, Picador)

The 2022 Prize will open for submissions in August 2021 


  • The author must be under the age of 35 on the 31 December 2021.
  • The author must be resident in Great Britain and Northern Ireland or the Commonwealth for three years prior to the date of submission for the award, or a British national, and writing in English.
  • The author must not have had any novel published (other than the one submitted).
  • The work submitted must be in the English language and the work of one author (not a translation).
  • The work submitted must be a novel of a romantic or traditional nature (i.e. not experimental).
  • If published or self-published, the work must have been published between 1 January 2021 and 30 November 2021.
  • If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the Betty Trask Prize and Awards.

Charity number 289519