The ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award

An annual award of £1,000 for a short story, financed by a bequest made by Miss Nellie Tom-Gallon in memory of her brother and generously supported by ALCS.


Entry to the 2023 award will open in August


  • Deadline for entries: 31 October 2022
  • The author must be ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom, Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.
  • The author must have had at least one short story published or accepted for publication.
  • The story submitted must be in English and must not be a translation.
  • The story submitted may be published or unpublished.
  • The work must not have been previously submitted for the ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award. 
  • The work must not exceed 5,000 words.

For any queries relating to the prize please contact

The 2022 Shortlist:

The 2022 Winner and Runner Up

Winner: Kanya D'Almeida for "I Cleaned The __"

Runner Up: Dean Gessie  for "Head Smashed in Buffalo Jump"



The ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award is generously supported by the Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS).




Charity number 212405