Past winners of the Elizabeth Longford Prize

2021 Fredrik Logevall for JFK: Vol 1 (Viking) £5,000

2020 D W. Hayton for Conservative Revolutionary: The Lives of Lewis Namier (Manchester University Press) £5,000

2019 Julian Jackson for A Certain Idea of France: The Life of Charles de Gaulle (Allen Lane) £5,000

2018 Giles Tremlett for Isabella of Castile: Europe’s First Great Queen (Bloomsbury) £5,000

2017 John Bew for Citizen Clem (riverrun / Quercus) £5,000

2016 Andrew Gailey for The Lost Imperialist - Lord Dufferin, Memory and Mythmaking in an Age of Celebrity (John Murray) £5,000

2015 Ben Macintyre for A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal (Bloomsbury) £5,000

2014 Charles Moore for Margaret Thatcher: The Authorized Biography, Volume 1: Not For Turning (Allen Lane) £5,000

2013 Anne Somerset for Queen Anne (Harper Press) £5,000

2012 Frances Wilson for How to Survive The Titanic (Bloomsbury) £5,000

2011 Philip Ziegler for Edward Heath – The Authorised Biography (HarperPress) £5,000

2010 Tristram Hunt for The Frock-Coated Communist: The Revolutionary Life of Friedrich Engels (Allen Lane) £5,000

2009 Mark Bostridge for Florence Nightingale: The Woman and Her Legend (Viking) £5,000

2008 Rosemary Hill for God’s Architect – Pugin and the Building of Romantic Britain (Allen Lane) £5,000

2007 Jessie Childs for Henry VIII’s Last Victim – The Life and Times of Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey (Cape) £3,000

2006 Charles Williams for P├ętain (Little, Brown) £3,000

2005 Ian Kershaw for Making Friends with Hitler: Lord Londonderry and Britain's Road to War (Penguin Allen Lane) £3,000

2004 Katie Whitaker for Mad Madge: Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle, Royalist, Writer and Romantic (Chatto & Windus) £3,000

2003 David Gilmour for The Long Recessional: The Imperial Life of Rudyard Kipling (John Murray) £3,000