Previous winners of the Sunday Times/University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year Award

Adam Weymouth for Kings of the Yukon (Particular Books)
Fiona Mozley for Elmet (John Murray)
Laura Freeman for The Reading Cure (W&N)
Imogen Hermes Gowar for The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock (Vintage)
Sally Rooney for Conversations with Friends (Faber & Faber)
Julianne Pachico for The Lucky Ones (Faber & Faber)
Claire North for The End of the Day (Orbit)
Sara Taylor for The Lauras (Windmill Books)
Minoo Dinshaw for Outlandish Knight: The Byzantine Life of Steven Runciman (Allen Lane)
Max Porter for Grief is the Thing with Feathers (Faber & Faber)
Andrew McMillan for physical (Jonathan Cape)
Jessie Greengrass for An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to One Who Saw It (JM Originals)
Benjamin Wood for The Ecliptic (Scribner)
Sarah Howe for Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus)
Her book of poetry was also awarded the T.S. Eliot Prize. 
Ben Fergusson for The Spring of Kasper Meier (Abacus)
Sunjeev Sahota for The Year of the Runaways (Picador)
Sara Taylor for The Shore (Windmill Books)
2009 Winner - Ross Raisin for God's Own Country (Penguin) 
His novel was also awarded a Betty Trask Award in 2008.
2008 Adam Foulds for The Truth about These Strange Times (Weidenfeld)
2007 Naomi Alderman for Disobedience (Viking)
2004 Robert Macfarlane for Mountains of the Mind (Granta)
2003 William Fiennes for The Snow Geese (Granta)
2001 Zadie Smith for White Teeth (Hamish Hamilton)
2000 Sarah Waters for Affinity (Little, Brown)
1999 Paul Farley for The Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You (Macmillan)
1998 Patrick French for Liberty or Death (HarperCollins)
1997 Francis Spufford for I May Be Some Time (Faber & Faber)
1996 Katherine Pierpoint for Truffle Beds (Faber & Faber)
1995 Andrew Cowan for Pig (Michael Joseph)
1994 William Dalrymple for City of Djinns (HarperCollins)
1993 Simon Armitage for Kid (Faber & Faber)
1992 Caryl Phillips for Cambridge (Bloomsbury)
1991 Helen Simpson for Four Bare Legs in a Bed (Heinemann)