The ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award

An annual award of £1,000 for a short story, financed by a bequest made by Miss Nellie Tom-Gallon in memory of her brother and generously supported by ALCS.

Entry to the 2022 award is now closed.


  • Deadline for entries: 31 October 2021
  • The author must be ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom, Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.
  • The author must have had at least one short story published or accepted for publication.
  • The story submitted must be in English and must not be a translation.
  • The story submitted may be published or unpublished.
  • The work must not have been previously submitted for the ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award. 
  • The work must not exceed 5,000 words.

For any queries relating to the prize please contact

2021 Winner 
DM O'Connor for 'I Told You not to Fly so High'

TG-Winner-DM-O-Connor-2021-(1).jpg2021 Runner-up
Sean Lusk for 'The Hopelessness of Hope'

ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award shortlist

  • Maeve O'Lynn for 'Eventually Meeting the Sky Somewhere'
  • Anne Aylor for ''The House of Wild Beats'
  • Alison Littlewood for 'Swanskin'
  • Dafydd Mills Daniel for 'What the Deal is'



The ALCS Tom-Gallon Trust Award is generously supported by the Authors' Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS).




Charity number 212405