The Queen's Knickers Award

This annual prize, generously funded by Nicholas Allan, author of The Queen's Knickers, is awarded to an outstanding children's original illustrated book for ages 0-7.

It will recognise books that strike a quirky, new note and grab the attention of a child, whether this be in the form of curiosity, amusement, horror or excitement.

The winner will receive £5,000, as well as a golden Queen's Knickers badge, as depicted in Nicholas Allan's original book.

The runner-up will receive £1,000 and a silvered badge. 


Entry to the 2022 Award is now closed.
The winner will be announced at a ceremony in June 2022.

  • Deadline for entries: 30 November 2021
  • The work should be a single, illustrated volume, in book form. It can be imaginative or factual e.g. a counting book. 
  • The work may be any combination of words and/or pictures, or just pictures (and in any physical format including pop ups, flap books and board books). 
  • The work must have been first published in the UK and Republic of Ireland between 1 September 2020 to 31 August 2021.
  • The prize will be awarded to an author or authors who is/are credited on the title page and are real people.  For works illustrated by named illustrator/illustrators, the judges may divide the prize between the author/authors and illustrator/illustrators at their discretion.
  • We cannot accept entries that are only available in e-format or that are self-published or where the author has contributed or paid for the costs of publishing.
  • Submissions must be made by the print publisher. 

2021 Queen's Knickers Award WinnersRashmi Sirdeshpande and Diane Ewen for
Never Show a T-Rex a Book (Puffin)



2021 Shortlist

  • Runner-up: Alex T. Smith for Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise
  • Joy Cowley and Giselle Clarkson for The Gobbledegook Book (Gecko Press)
  • John Condon and Matt Hunt for The Pirates are Coming! (Nosy Crow)
  • Katie Daynes and Marie-Eve Tremblay for Lift-the-Flap Questions and Answers About Plastic (Usborne)


For any queries relating to the prize please contact