Schlegel-Tieck Prize (German)

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize is an annual award of £3,000 for translations into English of full length German works of literary merit and general interest.

First awarded in 1965 and named for two poets of the Romantic period, August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) and Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853), the prize is generously sponsored by the Goethe-Institut.

The 2018 Schlegel-Tieck Prize, for translations published in 2017, went toTony Crawford for his translation of Wonder Beyond Belief by Navid Kermani (Polity Press).

The 2019 Schlegel-Tieck Prize, for translations published in 2018, will be presented in 2020. 

Entry to the 2019 Schlegel-Tieck Prize is now closed.

Important information

  • Entries must be translations from German into English.
  • Entries must have been published in 2018.
  • The deadline for the 2019 prize is 28 February 2019 at 5PM (GMT).
  • Full Terms and Conditions are listed at the start of the entry form.