Scott Moncrieff Prize (French)

The Scott Moncrieff Prize is an annual award of £1,000 for translations into English of full length French works of literary merit and general interest.

Established in 1965, and named after the celebrated translator of Proust’s Á la Recherche du Temps Perdu, the prize is generously sponsored by the Institut français du Royaume-Uni.  

The 2019 Scott Moncrieff Prize, for books published in 2018, went to Linda Coverdale for a translation of The Old Slave and the Mastiff by Patrick Chamoiseau (Dialogue Books). The 2020 prize will be awarded in 2021 and is closed for submissions.

The 2020 Shortlist

  • Frank Wynne for a translation of Animalia by Jean-Baptiste del Amo (Fitzcarraldo Editions)
  • Geoffrey Strachan for a translation of The Archipelago of Another Life by Andreï Makine (MacLehose Press)
  • Jordan Stump for a translation of The Cheffe by Marie NDiaye (MacLehose Press) 
  • Aneesa Abbas Higgins for a translation of A Girl Called Eel by Ali Zamir (Jacaranda Books)
  • Mark Hutchinson for a translation of The Governesses by Anne Serre (Les Fugitives) 
  • Natasha Lehrer for a translation of Memories of Low Tide by Chantal Thomas (Pushkin Press)

The winner will be announced on Thursday 11 February 2021

The 2021 Prize is now open and will close for submissions on
Sunday 28 February 2021, 5pm (GMT)

Enter Now


  • Entries must be translations from French into English.
  • The original must have been published within the last 150 years.
  • Entries must have been published in 2020.
  • Full Terms and Conditions are listed at the start of the entry form.
  • Presented at a ceremony in 2022.